Turning Dreams into Reality

By Hannah Ramey, Senior,  Agriculture  

A 4-H advisor asked me where I was going to college when I was about 13. I said, “I don’t know if I am going to college.”

hannah ramsey1At that point, I didn’t think I was college material. But the advisor encouraged me to do something I was interested in, something I was passionate about. He proceeded to tell me about his adventures as an agricultural ambassador. My interest was sparked, to say the least. I am passionate about agriculture and my faith in Jesus Christ. I lived in rural China for 5 ½ months in 2009, living and working with local people and Americans, teaching literacy and agriculture. My passion became a vision. I wanted to be an international agricultural missionary, to teach sustainable agriculture in developing countries.

Two weeks after returning from China, I began studying agriculture at Sierra College in Rocklin. After receiving associate degrees in agriculture and natural science, I transferred to CSU, Chico. Although I had saved money from raising animals through 4-H, without the generosity of scholarship donors, I would not have made it this far. I was pleasantly surprised to receive scholarships through the CSU, Chico scholarship foundation for my very first semester in Chico, and throughout my college career.

Hannah with College of Agriculture Dean Jennifer Ryder Fox

Hannah with College of Agriculture Dean Jennifer Ryder Fox

Because of those scholarships, I have been able to be involved on campus and take heavy course loads, without being preoccupied with a full-time job. Some of the activities in which I have been involved are Christian Challenge leadership team mentoring my peers, Agriculture Ambassadors representing the college to high schools, Up ’Til Dawn fundraiser for Saint Jude, Mental Health First Aid Training, speech and debate team, and bimonthly blood donations.

I will be graduating in the spring, on time, and I could not have done it without the generosity of people who had faith to invest in my education. Now that I know how much a scholarship means to a student trying to make their dream a reality, I hope to make an investment in students someday, to make the difference for them. It is well worth the result, especially if you are from CSU, Chico.

Thank you scholarship donors!

The College of Agriculture recently received the largest scholarship gift in CSU, Chico history from Dan Giustina. His $2 million gift will support students like Hannah through Bell Presidential Scholarships—and attract more talented applicants with a strong passion for agriculture to the University.

Leave a Reply

